Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

Nine States Pause Medicaid Procedural Terminations

A new document from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) summarizes mitigation strategies state Medicaid agencies have adopted to increase compliance with federal Medicaid renewal requirements.

Of note, nine states — Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, West Virginia, and Wyoming — have paused procedural terminations for beneficiaries who have not responded to the renewal form until the states implement approved mitigation strategies. States will redetermine eligibility for affected renewals once those mitigations are fully implemented.

In June, CMS implemented additional flexible policies that states could adopt to ensure a smooth transition to regular Medicaid operations, including allowing managed care plans to assist enrollees with completing and submitting Medicaid renewal forms.

Contact Senior Director of Policy Erin O’Malley at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Faridat Animashaun is a policy analyst at America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this