Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

Institute Board Chairs, 1990 to Present

As a supporting organization to America’s Essential Hospitals, Essential Hospitals Institute is governed by a 16-member board that consists of both member and outside directors. These are the board chairs* of America’s Essential Hospitals Institute since the Institute’s founding in 1990. Many of our accomplishments can be linked to the distinguished leaders recognized here.

1990 Ed Foley Administrator, LAC/Harbor/UCLA Medical Center
1991 Ron Anderson, MD President and CEO, Parkland Memorial Hospital
1992-1993 Mark Finucane Director, Contra Costa County Health Services
1994-1995 Douglas Bagley Executive Director, North/East Network, LAC + USC Medical Center
1996 James Mongan, MD CEO, Truman Medical Center
1997-1998 Patricia Gabow, MD Manager & CEO, Denver Health
1999-2000 John O’Brien CEO, Cambridge Public Health Commission
2001-2002 Patricia Terrell Deputy Chief, Cook County Bureau of Health Services
2003-2004 Ron Anderson, MD CEO, Parkland Health & Hospital System
2005-2006 LaRay Brown Senior Vice President, Corporate Planning, Community Health and Intergovernmental Relations, New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation
2007 Michael Belzer, MD Director and Health Officer, Hennepin County Medical Center
2008 William Walker, MD Director and Health Officer, Contra Costa Health Services
2009 Kirk Calhoun, MD President, The University of Texas Health Center at Tyler
2010 Dennis Keefe Chief Executive Officer, Cambridge Health Alliance
2011 Reginald Coopwood, MD President and Chief Executive Officer, Regional Medical Center at Memphis
2012 Johnese Spisso, RN, MPA Chief Health System Officer & VP Medical Affairs, UW Medicine
2013 Clifford Wang, MD Acting Chief Medical Officer, Santa Clara Valley Medical Center
2014 Caroline Jacobs, MPH, MSEd Senior Vice President, Safety & Human Development, New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation
2015 Anna Roth, RN, MS, MPH CEO, Contra Costa Regional Medical Center
2016 Leon Haley Jr., MD, MHSA Executive Associate Dean, Clinical Services, Chief Medical Officer, Grady Health System
2017 Susan Moffatt-Bruce, MD, PhD Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
2018-2020 Delvecchio Finley, MPP CEO, Alameda Health System
2020 Christine Neuhoff, JD, MBA System Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, St. Luke’s Health System
2021 Parveen Chand, MHA Chief Operating Officer, Academic Health Center — Adult Hospitals at Indiana University Health

* Institutional affiliation shown is that which was current at the time of the individual’s tenure.


Below find a list of Essential Hospitals Institute standing committees, with links to members-only resources and information.

Finance Committee

Nominating Committee

Research Committee

Visit our About page to access information on America’s Essential Hospitals’ standing committees.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this