Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

CMS Sets Stage for MACRA with New Core Measure Sets

For the first time, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released clinical quality measure sets that support multipayer alignment for physician quality programs.

Through a collaborative with industry stakeholders, CMS released seven sets of core measures to inform the implementation of the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA), and to accelerate the shift toward payment models based on value of care, rather than volume.

Under MACRA, existing quality reporting programs for physicians will be combined into the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) starting in 2019. Physicians also can decide to take part in an alternative payment model (APM), and forgo participation in MIPS.

The collaborative determined these core measure sets with the intention that they be meaningful to patients and physicians, while increasing alignment and reducing the cost and administrative burden of data collection. The collaborative released measures in the following sets:

Contact Director of Policy Erin O’Malley at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Matt Buechner is the policy and advocacy associate for America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this