Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

CMS Launches HCAHPS Five-Star Quality Ratings

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) added five-star quality ratings to its Hospital Compare website. The ratings are based on the results of the patient satisfaction survey known as the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS). Hospitals are assigned a star rating based on their score on 12 measures, ranging in topic from communication between clinicians and patients to patient preparedness to care for condition after discharge. CMS previously released similar rating systems for nursing homes, physicians, and Medicare Advantage plans with the goal of making it easier for patients to understand the data. The initial ratings reflect the level of satisfaction among patients discharged between July 2013 and June 2014 and will be updated with new results quarterly. CMS also released a fact sheet on the five-star quality rating system.

Contact Beth Feldpush, DrPH, senior vice president of policy and advocacy, at or 202.585.0111 with questions.


About the Author

Matt Buechner is the policy and advocacy associate for America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this