Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

New Chronic Kidney Disease Payment Models

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services announced new payment models through the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (CMMI) to promote high-quality, coordinated care for patients with chronic kidney disease.

Kidney Care First (KCF), Comprehensive Kidney Care Contracting (CKCC) Models

The proposal also includes four optional models:

  • KCF model;
  • CKCC Graduated model;
  • CKCC Professional model; and
  • CKCC Global model.

The optional models are designed to help health care providers reduce the cost and improve the quality of care for patients with late-stage chronic kidney disease and end-stage renal disease (ESRD). They also aim to delay the need for dialysis and encourage kidney transplantation.

These models build on existing the existing Comprehensive ESRD Care (CEC) model structure, in which dialysis facilities, nephrologists, and other health care providers form ESRD-focused accountable care organizations. They add financial incentives for health care providers to delay the onset of dialysis and create incentives for kidney transplantation.

The models are expected to run from Jan. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2023, with the option for one or two additional performance years at CMS’ discretion. Providers interested in participating can apply beginning in fall 2019. Financial accountability will not begin until 2021. During 2020, or Year 0, model participants will focus on building necessary care relationships and infrastructure.

Contact Senior Director of Policy Erin O’Malley at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Rachel Schwartz is a former policy associate at America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this