Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

Nearly All States Now Have Section 1135 Waivers

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved Section 1135 waivers in 45 states in response to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

States most recently receiving waiver approval include Alaska, Arkansas, the District of ColumbiaGeorgia, and Nebraska.

Under Section 1135 of the Social Security Act, CMS can waive or modify select Medicare, Medicaid, and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) requirements and conditions of participation when a national emergency and public health emergency have been declared.

Visit the America’s Essential Hospitals coronavirus resource page for more information about the outbreak.

Contact Senior Director of Policy Erin O’Malley at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Abigail Painchaud is a policy associate at America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this