Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account

ICD-10 Resources for Essential Hospitals

Beginning Oct. 1, 2015, providers will transition to the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition (ICD-10). The transition to ICD-10 was set in motion through a number of statues and regulations.

As the switch to ICD-10 nears, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), other governmental agencies, and health- and hospital-related associations have released information to help providers make the transition. CMS also has released a quick start guide, which outlines five steps health care professionals must take to comply with use of ICD-10.

This page, which America’s Essential Hospitals will update periodically, provides resources to help hospitals transition to ICD-10 coding.

Fact Sheets

Implementation Guides

Interactive Guides



  • CMS: The ICD-10 Transition: An Introduction (Slides)
  • CMS: Transitioning to ICD-10 (Slides) (Audio) (Transcript)
  • HIMSS: Successful ICD-10 Implementation from a Provider Perspective (Slides)
  • Medicare’s Testing Plan for ICD-10 Success (Video)
  • National Provider Call: ICD-10 Implementation and Medicare Testing (Video)
  • PAHCOM: Clinical Documentation; Supporting Good Patient Care and Proper Coding in an ICD-10 Environment by Joe Nichols, M.D, from Health Data Consulting (Video)
  • PAHCOM: ICD-10, The Provider Perspective (Video)



Training Events

Other Resources



About the Author

Dedicated staff at America's Essential Hospitals work together to produce high-quality, reliable content. Please view the about section for more details about staff.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this