Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

ICD-10 Implementation to Start Oct. 1, 2015

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) will release an interim final rule requiring the use of International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition (ICD-10) beginning Oct. 1, 2015. ICD-10 codes will provide data that can be exchanged with health care systems across the world. The agency also said the rule will require the use of the current system, ICD-9-Clinical Modification, through Sept. 30, 2015. CMS had intended to implement ICD-10 Oct. 1, 2014, but the Protecting Access to Medicare Act of 2014 mandated a delay until Oct. 1, 2015.

On May 2, CMS also announced that end-to-end testing scheduled for July has been cancelled because ICD-10 implementation will begin Oct. 1, 2015 instead of Oct., 1, 2014. The agency will make end-to-end testing opportunities available in 2015. During end-to-end testing, a sample group of providers will submit test claims to CMS with ICD-10 codes and will receive a receipt of remittance advice that explains the decisions on the claims.

Contact Xiaoyi Huang, JD, director of policy, at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Dedicated staff at America's Essential Hospitals work together to produce high-quality, reliable content. Please view the about section for more details about staff.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this