Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

GAO Appoints New MACPAC Commissioners

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) recently announced the appointment of seven new commissioners to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC). Sara Rosenbaum, JD, professor of health policy in the George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, was named as the commission’s new chair.

New members include six who will serve three-year appointments, starting Jan. 1, and one who will serve the remaining two years of a vacant seat:

  • Brian Burwell, vice president, community living systems, Truven Health Analytics
  • Toby J. Douglas, MPP, MPH, independent consultant and senior advisory, Sellers Dorsey; former director of the California Department of Health Care Services and Medicaid Director
  • Leanna George, parent of Medicaid and CHIP beneficiaries (filling vacancy)
  • Christopher P. Gorton, MD, MHSA, president of public plans, Tufts Health Plan
  • Stacey Lampkin, FSA, MAAA, MPA, actuary and principal, Mercer Government Human Services Consulting
  • Penny R. Thompson, MPA, principal, Penny Thompson Consulting, LLC; former deputy director of the Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Alan Weil, JD, MPP, editor-in-chief, Health Affairs

MACPAC was established to review access and payment policies and advise Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Contact Director of Policy Erin O’Malley at or 202.585.0127 with questions.


About the Author

Matt Buechner is the policy and advocacy associate for America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this