Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

CMS Posts eCQM Annual Update

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released April 1 its annual update of the hospital electronic clinical quality measure (eCQM) specifications, which were originally finalized in the 2012 meaningful use stage 2 final rule. Hospitals participating in stage 1 or stage 2 of meaningful use must report data for eCQMs.

Beginning in 2014, the eCQMs selected by a hospital must cover at least three of the six National Quality Strategy domains, which are patient and family engagement, patient safety, care coordination, population/public health, efficient use of health care resources, and clinical process/effectiveness.

Hospitals are encouraged to use the 2014 hospital eCQM specifications, but CMS will accept all versions of the eCQMs, beginning with the December 2012 release. To help providers implement eCQMs, several resources are available in the eCQM library, including the 2014 eCQM specifications for eligible hospitals and a guide to reading eCQMs. CMS has also released BONNIE, a new tool to help developers test eCQMs.

Please contact Shahid Zaman, JD, policy analyst, at or 202.585.0124 with questions.


About the Author

Dedicated staff at America's Essential Hospitals work together to produce high-quality, reliable content. Please view the about section for more details about staff.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this