Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account
Don't have an account? Create Account

CMS: Four Hospitals Have Attested to Stage 2 Meaningful Use

At a meeting of the Health Information Technology (HIT) Policy Committee, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) noted that as of May 1, only four hospitals in the nation have attested to stage 2 of meaningful use for fiscal year (FY) 2014. Thus far, a total of 30 hospitals have attested to either stage 1 or 2 for FY 2014. Hospitals have until Nov. 30 to attest to meaningful use for FY 2014. Hospitals who are in their first year of demonstrating meaningful use must attest by July 1 of this year to avoid a penalty in FY 2015.

The HIT Policy Committee is a federal advisory committee tasked with making recommendations on meaningful use. The committee is holding public listening sessions on providers’ experiences with stages 1 and 2, as well as their expectations for stage 3. America’s Essential Hospitals would like to hear from  members on their experiences and difficulties with stages 1 and 2 so we can convey any concerns to CMS in advance of stage 3 rulemaking.

Please contact Xiaoyi Huang, JD, director of policy, at or 202.585.0127 with questions or feedback.


About the Author

Shahid Zaman is a senior policy analyst at America's Essential Hospitals.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this