Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account

Institute Board of Directors and Staff



As a supporting organization to America’s Essential Hospitals, Essential Hospitals Institute is governed by a 16-member board that consists of both member and outside directors.

The board provides strategic direction and oversight of the Institute. The directors meet periodically to consider and vote on key Institute activities.

Board members, who are appointed by the board of directors for America’s Essential Hospitals, serve staggered, two-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

View our past Institute board chairs back to 1990.

Learn more about how America’s Essential Hospitals is governed.


Delvecchio Finley, MPP
Alameda Health System
Susan Moffatt-Bruce, MD, PhD
Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Secretary and Chair-Elect
Christine Neuhoff, JD
System Vice President, General Counsel
St. Luke’s Health System
Recording Secretary (Ex Officio)
Bruce Siegel, MD, MPH
President and CEO
America’s Essential Hospitals
Reuven Pasternak, MBA, MD, MPH
CEO, Stony Brook University Hospital

Member Directors

  • Ericka Brown, MD, MBA, chief operating officer, Harris Health System, Houston
  • Dave Chokshi, MD, MSc, senior assistant vice president, NYC Health + Hospitals, New York
  • Roy Gilbreath, MD, senior vice president and chief system of care integration officer, Navicent Health, Macon, Georgia
  • Leon Haley, MD, MSHA, CEO, UF Health Jacksonville, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Jon Pryor, MD, MBA, CEO, Hennepin Healthcare, Minneapolis
  • John Jay Shannon, MD, CEO, Cook County Health & Hospitals System, Chicago

Outside Directors

  • Stuart Guterman, independent consultant, Silver Spring, Maryland
  • Erica Murray, MPA, president and CEO, CAPH-California Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems, Oakland, California
  • James Schroeder, MPAS, vice president, Safety Net Transformation, Kaiser Permanente, Oakland, California
  • Dale Shaller, MPA, Principal, Shaller Consulting Group, Stillwater, Minnesota


Below find a list of Essential Hospitals Institute standing committees, with links to members-only resources and information.

Research Committee

Visit our About page to access information on America’s Essential Hospitals’ standing committees.


Kalpana Ramiah
Vice President of Innovation and Director, Essential Hospitals Institute

Deborah Roseman
Principal Project Specialist

Jennifer Stephens
Principal Research Associate

Brian Roberson
Senior Research Analyst

Janelle Schrag
Research Associate

Katherine Susman-Yi
Research Associate

Dayna Clark
Senior Research Assistant

Madeline White
Research Assistant

Hannah Lambalot
Program Assistant

Iti Madan
Program Coordinator

Contact the Institute staff