Skip to Main Content
Don't have an account? Create Account

Board Chairs, 1981 to Present

All members of America’s Essential Hospitals annually elect the chair and other officers of the association’s board. These are the board chairs* of America’s Essential Hospitals since the association’s founding in 1981. Many of our accomplishments can be linked to the distinguished leaders recognized here.

1981 Gordon Howe Executive Director, Denver General Hospital
1982 Paul Drozd Executive Director, LAC/USC Medical Center
1982-1983 Elliott Roberts Senior Executive Director, Cook County Hospital
1984 Madeline Bohman Executive Director, Bellevue Hospital Center
1985 Ray Newman COO, Parkland Memorial Hospital
1986 Robert Johnson President, St. Louis Regional Health Care Corporation
1987 Robert Sillen Executive Director, Santa Clara Valley Health & Hospital System
1988 Lorraine Tregde Executive Director, Queens Hospital Center
1989 Daniel Couch Deputy Executive Director, Truman Medical Centers
1990 Edward Foley Administrator, LAC + Harbor/UCLA Medical Center
1991 Bernard Weinstein Commissioner, Westchester County Medical Center
1992 Ron Anderson, MD CEO, Parkland Health & Hospital System
1993 George McCoy CEO, Governor Juan F. Luis Hospital & Medical Center
1994 Mark Finucane Director, Contra Costa Health Services
1995 James Wright, Jr. President & CEO, North Oakland Medical Centers
1995 Howard Cohen Executive Director, Coney Island Hospital
1996 Richard Cordova Administrator, San Francisco General Hospital
1997 Douglas Bagley Executive Director, LAC Department of Health Services, North/East Network
1998 Patricia Gabow, MD CEO & Medical Director, Denver Health
1999 Dan McLaughlin Director of Health Strategy & Policy, Hennepin County
2000 Ed Renford President & CEO, Grady Health System
2001 John O’Brien CEO, Cambridge Health Alliance
2002 Frank Puglisi, Jr. Executive Director, Contra Costa Regional Medical Center
2003 LaRay Brown Senior Vice President, Corporate Planning, Community Health & Intergovernmental Relations, NYCHHC
2004 Margo Hilliard Alford, MD Administrator, Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital, Harris County Hospital District
2005 John Benz Chief Strategic Officer, Memorial Healthcare System
2006 Sandral Hullett, MD, MPH CEO & Medical Director, Cooper Green Hospital
2007 Gene Marie O’Connell, RN CEO, San Francisco General Hospital
2008 John Bluford III, MBA President & CEO, Truman Medical Centers
2009 Lisa Harris, MD CEO & Medical Director, Wishard Health Services
2010-2011 Kirk Calhoun, MD CEO and Medical Director, UT Health Science Center at Tyler
2012 Stephen McKernan CEO, UNM Hospitals
2013 Thomas Traylor, MBA Vice President, Federal, State and Local Programs, Boston Medical Center
2014 William Walker, MD Director and Health Officer, Contra Costa Health Services
2015 Johnese Spisso, RN, MPA President, UCLA Health System; CEO, UCLA Hospital System; Associate Vice Chancellor, UCLA Health Sciences
2016 John Haupert President and CEO, Grady Memorial Hospital
2017 Donna Sollenberger, MA Executive Vice President and CEO, The University of Texas Medical Branch
2018 Joseph Scott Executive Vice President of Health Care Transformation, RWJBarnabas Health
2019 Wright Lassiter, III President and CEO, Henry Ford Health System

* Institutional affiliation shown is that which was current at the time of the individual’s tenure.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this